The Mid-Norway European Office has the following members:

Sør-Trøndelag County Authority

sør-tøndSør-Trøndelag County is in Mid-Norway. In west the county is bordering the Norwegian Sea, in North it is bordering Nord-Trøndelag, in east it is bordering Jämtland County in Sweden and in south it is bordering the counties Hedmark, Oppland and Møre and Romsdal.

The southern part of the county includes the valleys towards Dovrefjell and Rørosvidda (Oppdal, Orkdal and Gauldal).

The western part consists of the areas around the river outlet of the Trondheimsfjord, and a large number of islands, with Hitra and Frøya being the largest. The northern part includes the coastal strip Fosna.

Number of inhabitants in the county is 310 600 (March 2015).


Nord-Trøndelag County Authority

nord-trøndThe county is bordering the Norwegian Sea to the west, Nordland County to the north, Jämtland County in Sweden to the east and Sør-Trøndelag County to the south. Nord-Trøndelag county covers 22 396km2 (6,9 % of mainland Norway) and has 135 882 inhabitants (March 2015).

Main services: 12 upper secondary schools, public dental service, county roads and public transport facilities.

Trondheim Municipality

Trondheim is located in Sør-Trøndelag County, by the outlet of the river Nidelva in the Trondheimsfjord. Trondheim has a strong position as commercial center of the region. The city contributes to about 50% of the regions retail trade and around 85% of the wholesale trade. Trondheim accounts for 85% of the imports and 65% of the exports in the region.

In March 2015 the city had around 185 537 inhabitants. However, the large number of students (every 6th inhabitant) makes the number probably higher.

Innherred Joint Municipality

Innherred SamkommuneInnherred joint municipality consists of Levanger and Verdal municipality in Nord-Trøndelag County. Combined the joint municipality has 33.540 inhabitants (2012). It was established on the 1st February 2004 as a pilot project, the first of its kind in Norway. Measured in participating municipalities, Innherred joint municipality is the smallest intermunicipal cooperation. The distance between the municipal centers Levanger and Verdalsøra is 9km. The joint municipality cooperates in sectors such as area planning, archiving, fire department, building permits, agriculture and environmental management/administration, substance abuse prevention, service office and tax collection.


Inntrøndelag Region kommunene

Inntrøndelag Region consists of: Snåsa municipality, Inderøy municipality, Verran municipality, and Steinkjer municipality.

Snåsa municipality is a distinctly outdoor municipality with a great proportion of hunters and fishers, and in the past few years, has had a big focus on the scheiling life. The principal industries in Snåsa are agriculture and forestry. Inderøy municipality is busy with cultural events and Inderøy soup is eaten for every occasion throughout the entire country. In Verran, the primary industry is manufacturing, and until 1997 it was driven largely by the mining of iron ore in the municipality. Steinkjer is one of the country’s biggest agricultural and forestry operating municipalities, and if one looks at the population, only Stjørdal municipality is bigger in Nord-Trøndelag. In Steinkjer one can also find Norway’s geographical midpoint.


Nord University (campus Stjørdal, Levanger, Steinkjer, Namsos)


SpareBank 1 SMN

SpareBank1 SMNSpareBank 1 SMN is the largest financial conglomerate in the region and it is one of six members in the SpareBank 1 group. The headquarter of SpareBank 1 SMN is located in Trondheim and the group, and together with its subsidiaries employ more than 1100 workers. SpareBank 1 SMN is an independent regional savings bank with local ties. Presence and competence marks the group’s relationship to the finance market in the region.

SpareBank 1 SMN is the largest bank in Trøndelag and on the northern part of Norway’s west coast. They have 52 offices located in 43 municipalities.

The group also includes the following subsidiaries:
EiendomsMegler 1 Midt-Norge AS
SpareBank 1 SMN Regnskap AS
SpareBank 1 SMN Finans AS
SpareBank 1 Bilplan AS
Allegro Finans ASA
SpareBank 1 SMN Card Solutions AS


Husbanken region Mid-Norway

husbankenThe Norwegian State Housing Bank (Husbanken) covers the counties Nord- and Sør-Trøndelag and Møre and Romsdal. The regional office is located in Trondheim.

Established in 1946 to rebuild the country’s supply of housing after the war, Husbanken has grown into being a welfare agency. Today, Husbanken is a knowledge enterprise and a resource center for social housing issues. Husbanken contributes to a functioning housing market by developing and spreading knowledge on the housing sector, and by financing housing.

Their work is characterized by a universal design, energy efficiency and architectural style. The housing and construction sector is currently consuming 40 % of the energy used, and 40 % of the materials used in Norway today. To reduce this consumption demands knowledge and competence, which Husbanken is contributing.


NIBIO – Norwegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research

 Through research and knowledge production, NIBIO shall contribute to food security, sustainable resource management, innovasion and added value within the value added chains for food, forestry, and other biobased business sectors. The institute will deliver research, support for public management, and knowledge for use in national preparedness, management, business sector, and the society in general.



sintef-logoSINTEF is the largest independent research organization in Scandinavia. SINTEF contributes to increased value creation, increased quality of life and sustainable development. SINTEF is selling research-based knowledge and related services based on a deep insight in technology, natural science, medicine and social science. SINTEF contributes to the development of 2000 Norwegian and foreign companies through research and consultancy every year.



NTNUThe technological knowledge in Norway is gathered at NTNU in Trondheim. In addition to the technical and natural sciences, NTNU has a rich supply of courses in social science, humanities, medicine, architecture and art. NTNU also offers vocational studies in medicine, architecture, visual arts, music and teacher training. NTNU has 7 faculties and 48 institutes.

NTNU has about 23 000 students, and half of the students are taking courses in technical and natural sciences. Yearly, NTNU awards around 4000 bachelor and master degrees, and 370 doctorates. Around 2600 of the students are foreign. They participate in international student exchange programs and they have bi-lateral agreements with many foreign universities. NTNU employs the equivalent of 5000 full time employees, of these 3000 are working with teaching and research. NTNU took part in 105 research programs in the EU’s 7 framework programs, and have more than 100 laboratories.


Orkdal Region

Uten navnThe Orkdal Region consistes of 10 municipalities: Snillfjord, Skaun, Rindal, Rennebu, Orkdal, Meldal, Hitra, Hemne, Frøya, and Agdenes. The Orkdal Region is a big and complex region. There are around 45 000 inhabitants of the region. The business community is diverse. The coastal areas of the region represent both a national and international  centre for the aquaculture and production of atlantic salmon. The seafood industry in the region is world leading and has lead to great economic growth. This is international businesses with great ambition. The past few years, the region has also had an increased focus on wind power development.