About Mid-Norway

Mid-Norway consists of the counties Nord-Trøndelag and Sør-Trøndelag. Together Mid-Norway is home to more than 430 000 inhabitants.

Mid-Norway has a population density of 10.5 people pr square kilometer. If we disregard Trondheim municipality with 176 000 inhabitants, the population density is 6 people per square kilometer.

The famous Dovre mountain region, where you can spot musk ox if you are lucky, can be found in Sør-Trøndelag. Here you can also find the highest point in Mid-Norway, Storskrymten, with 1 985 meters.

One of Norway’s largest national parks, Blåfjella-Skjækerfjella national park, is located in Nord-Trøndelag. The region is also home to renowned rivers and salmon streams, such as Namsen, Gaula, Orkla and Stjørdalselva.

The region also includes the mining town Røros. Røros is Norway’s only remaining mining town and is listed on UNESCO’s list of world heritage. The city is one of the coldest in Norway, with a record of -50,5 celsius.